I need your help

Hi guys! How is your week going? Mine’s been super busy…so I apologize for not checking in! Between school/work/coaching Girls on the Run, I don’t have much down time! I need to work on being better prepared πŸ™‚

I need your help!

I have been trying to re-incorporate a few “long runs” into my routine lately. Since I am running a 10k in about a week and a half, I figured I should at least be able to run 6 miles πŸ˜‰ Well, here’s the deal: my longer runs have beenΒ terrible.Β My legs get tired after about 0.6 miles or so (yes, really that soon), my shins start to hurt, mentally I am not in it, and the Arizona sun is starting to get to me. This is all very frustrating because I really do love the feeling that I get when I am on a long run, and especially when I am finished with one! I am wondering if I just physically and mentally need a break, or if I need to push harder and just get through this. Also, maybe I need to incorporate more strength training? I have no idea! All I know is, this happens every few months with me. Any runners out there- any advice?? It would be much appreciated!

Recently

I’ll go over what my workouts have looked like this week!

Monday I went out for a 3 mile run- finished in 31:11. Tuesday, I got up and completed a 15 minute strength workout from the Nike Training Club App. I completed the “lengthen and strengthen” workout that targeted my glutes and my core. It was short, but it was a good one! Here’s where it gets ugly: this morning I woke up and got out the door around 9. This is pretty late for me to get out and run, so I knew the sun would be a challenge for me. I wanted to complete 6 or 7 miles, but knew that I would probably end up with only 4 or 5. Like I said, my legs felt like crap the whole time. I was thirsty, and the sun just really got to me. I’m starting to think that I just have a low tolerance for heat and the sun when I am exercising? It just makes me overheat and feel like crap. I’m all for running in the cold or in the shade! Anyways, I made it 4 miles in about 46 minutes- with two walking breaks. And it was miserable! I am really not sure what’s going on with me, but hopefully I can get it together before my 10k on the 8th! I am going to try (again) for 6 miles on Saturday. It’s supposed to be cloudy and rainy! My kinda weather πŸ™‚

Talk to you Friday!

3 thoughts on “I need your help

  1. Strength training has been a huge help for me. I get tired less easily and haven’t been injured since I started going to bootcamp classes. I also use the Nike training app and love it for fast, targeted workouts. I wish I had advice for the heat, but I have a really hard time with it too. If it is above 70 degrees my pace slows by a minute or more per mile. I try to take water with me and just accept that I need to run slower. Good luck with your 10k…you will definitely be ok with 6 miles even if you’ve only done a few 4 or 5 mile runs.

    • Thanks Andrea! I definitely need to incorporate more strength…I just have a hard time motivating myself! Isn’t the heat funny? It seems like there’s some people who do great in 90+ degrees (living in AZ you’d think I’d be one of them), but I’m the same as you. Anything over 70 and I feel like I’m melting out there! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: An Improvement Plan | More Than the Miles

Leave a Reply

