An Improvement Plan

Happy Friday!! I am so glad that this week is coming to a close. I just have to make it through next week, then I’m on Spring Break! Woohoo!

An Improvement Plan

After Wednesday’s post, I decided that I need to come up with an improvement plan. Apparently sitting around saying “woe is me” and whining will not fix my situation… go figure! 🙂 so here’s what I’ve come up with! (Click on the photos to go to the source).

  • Better nutrition- This is absolutely number 1 on my list! It finally occurred to me that my poor nutrition as of late has likely been influencing my running performance. I have been terrible about getting in my fruits and veggies lately, and if I’m being honest, I’ve just been eating junk. It’s been hard for me to make nutrition a priority since I’ve been so busy lately…but I am starting today. Actually, I started yesterday! I went grocery shopping and stocked up on fruits, veggies, lean meat, and whole grains. I also prepped it all last night so that it’s easy to grab and go!

Nutrition

  • Strength training- I have really put strength training on the back burner for months now. I go in phases with it, but it honestly tends to just bore me. Also, circuit workouts really intimidate me. I have started to re-incorporate strength into my routine, but I am going to work on getting a strength workout in 3 times a week, rather than just one or two. I know that this will make me a stronger runner, as well as prevent future injury. Plus, it makes you look good! 🙂

Strength

  • Cut myself some slack- I tend to really beat up on myself when I don’t do as well as I think I should. I hope to take a step back and just cut myself some slack for the time being. Yes, I need to push myself to improve. But I also need to accept that I am going through a “setback” right now, and that’s just fine. I’ll work through it and be stronger because of it. Yes, I am slooooww right now…this is due to a) my mentality, b) a lack of strength training, and c) the heat (the sun is a’blazing here in AZ!). But you know what? “Slow” is okay. I’m out there and I’m moving, and that’s what matters!

Real Runner

  • Be more positive- This kind of goes with the third point, but I really just need to be more positive! I tend to be a pretty pessimistic person (although I like to think of myself as more of a realist ;)), and it’s time for me to change that! Every morning I want to wake up believing that I can do anything I set my mind to.

Thoughts

 

So there you have it! That’s my improvement plan…I’ll keep you guys updated on how it’s going! P.S.- Can you tell my inspiration is coming from Pinterest? Gotta love it! 🙂

What do you do when you’re facing a setback? 

Leave a Reply

