Lent

Happy Wednesday! I hope your week is shaping up nicely.

Today is Ash Wednesday, which means that Lent starts today. I never really gave much thought to Lent when I was younger. After all, 40 days is an awful long time to give something up for. However, over the past few years I have started to give it more thought. Last year was the first time that I first “seriously” participated in Lent, giving up peanut butter (something I ate every.single.day) for 40 days. I want to add that I do not participate in Lent in the traditional sense. In other words, I don’t give up meat or animal products, and I don’t fast. I simply choose something that I know will be very difficult for me to give up, and I restrain myself from it for the Lent season.

This year, I chose chocolate. I chose chocolate for one of two reasons. Number one: I absolutely adore chocolate. I eat it almost every day, and it is definitely my dessert of choice.

chocolate

Number two: I like to pick something that will be good for me to give up. For example, last year, I was eating way too much peanut butter. Now I know that peanut butter is good for you in moderation, but the way I was eating it, I was taking in a lot of unnecessary fats. Giving it up was good for me. Currently, I am struggling to limit my desserts. Giving up chocolate will hopefully help me break the habit of eating a large dessert every night.

Lent is also a time for me to think about Christ and focus on my faith. It is so easy to get caught up in the “holiday” of Easter, that it can be easy to forget the real meaning behind it. Lent gives me a way to focus and prepare myself for the Easter season.

He is risen

[I never want to make anyone feel uncomfortable, but I will openly talk about my faith on the blog when I want to. We may all have different beliefs and opinions, and that is okay- so long as we are respectful of one another]

Have you ever participated in Lent?

Like I said, I was typically never very interested in it until recently. To be honest, I still don’t know much about it. I kind of do my own thing…but I think that what matters is that your heart is in the right place!

2 thoughts on “Lent

  1. Pingback: Spring Objective-Give & Take | melissuhhsmiles

  2. Pingback: Lent So Far | More Than the Miles

Leave a Reply

