GCU Run to Fight Children’s Cancer 10k

Hey hey!

I’m currently California bound! We’ll probably arrive in Anaheim around 1, relax a little, then go grab some dinner.

GCU Run to Fight Children’s Cancer 10k

Saturday, I ran my first 10k! It might not seem like a big deal since I’ve done two half marathons, but any distance is truly hard for me, so I’m considering it a big accomplishment 🙂 We ran the GCU Run to Fight Children’s Cancer.

photo 1 (2)

My friend ran it with me- Actually, she is the reason we ran it! When New Years came around, she decided she wanted to do a 10k; so we found this one and signed up!- It was really nice having her there to run with me (we’ve done a 5k together also). At first, I was a little nervous because I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to keep up with her. She assured me that she wanted to stay with me though, and we actually kept a good pace the whole time! We finished in 1:02:49, which is right around a 10-minute mile pace. This is much faster than I was running in training, so I was really pleased! After the race, we headed to The Breakfast Club to grab some food. I had a waffle with peanut butter and it hit the spot! Now onto the race itself…

The race

If I’m being completely honest, I did not think that this race was set up well. Don’t get me wrong, there were plenty of refreshments, booths, games, bounce-houses, and other activities at the start/finish. However, the actually course itself is what I had a problem with.

The race started just a little late, which was really no big deal- I realize that things happen. The 5k (run/walk) was scheduled to start at 7:30, and the 10k (run only) at 7:50. I think we started somewhere around 8. Like I said, no big deal. BUT, the 5k started right before us! I think that they actually started around 7:50 (or at least quite a few 5k runners started right before us, they might have had them go in waves- I’m not sure). This caused a problem for the 10k runners. There were just SO many walkers blocking off our entire path. I have absolutely no problem with walkers! But I think that logistically, it was a bad idea to start the 10k so soon after the 5k. For the entire first half of the race, my friend and I were dodging people who were walking (not exaggerating here). We actually had to run outside of our designated coned area and into the street, just to be able to pass people. It was just kind of frustrating. I would have preferred that the 5k either start earlier, or that we be given a larger space to run in (we were only given a very small portion of the road). That is my major complaint. Minor complaints- our medals say “San Diego” (they do an event there, as well), rather than “Phoenix.” Again, this isn’t really a big deal; just something minor to note.

photo 2 (2)

Also minor, the last minute info email was sent out very last minute, like the afternoon before the race. It would have been nice to get it a few days before, because it had information about packet pick-up. The course itself was not pretty at all, but that’s just what you get when you run in downtown Phoenix! 😉 I didn’t like that the 10k group ran the 5k loop twice, just because it’s pretty boring. This isn’t the race’s fault; I know it’s convenient and I knew what I was getting into when I signed up. 

race-map

My Garmin read that we only did 6.1 miles, rather than 6.2, but this could totally be my watch’s fault. I’ve noticed in races that it never reaches the actual distance. It always reads something like 3 miles (for 5k’s) or 13.04 (for half marathons), something like that. I figured I have only two options, either every race course is too short or my Garmin is wrong…so I’m assuming it’s my Garmin. It’s kind of a bummer because I never leave a race feeling like I’ve done the whole distance! Ha!

photo 3

With all the zig-zagging we did, I’m actually surprised we didn’t run more than 6.2 miles!

As for water stations, there were 2 for the 5k group and 4 for the 10k group (since we just ran the 5k loop twice). I liked that there were four stations. Although I don’t usually actually drink water from the stations, Saturday I was pouring it on myself! It was getting toasty toward the end. GCU also put teams of people out for support to cheer us on, which I really love! It’s always nice to see people out there with signs cheering you on during a race.

As for the cause, I love it. I love what they are doing to raise awareness and donations for childhood cancer. This race is a very family friendly event; with strollers allowed in the 5k and lots of activities for kids at the finish. I actually saw a lot of people that I knew from high school there. There was also a 1 mile cancer survivor walk, which I totally wish we would have stuck around for! It would have been really cool to see.

At the end of the day, I have to remind myself that the cause is what matters, not the logistics. Despite minor hiccups, we all had a great time, and I know that everyone else there did too. These people are doing great things for childhood cancer awareness, and I’m glad that I was able to be a part of it!

Does your Garmin ever read wrong?

Have you ever done a 10k?

Do you prefer running alone or with a friend?

I typically prefer running alone, but that’s honestly just because running with a partner intimidates me (I’m always afraid I won’t be fast enough). Running this race with my friend helped me realize that it doesn’t have to be intimidating, and it can actually be a really good motivator!

2 thoughts on “GCU Run to Fight Children’s Cancer 10k

  1. Pingback: 5k Foam Fest | More Than the Miles

  2. Pingback: On the Agenda | More Than the Miles

Leave a Reply

