Craving Group Exercise

Since I’m trying to switch things up these days, I am trying to find new ways to get active. For example, all the biking and hiking I did yesterday is not something I would normally do, but I loved it!

Lately, I have been craving group exercise classes! I actually have only ever taken a group exercise class twice, and they were both hot yoga classes (I plan on talking about these later- but let me just say they did NOT work for me). Since I am trying to incorporate more strength training into my routine, I am working on finding creative ways to do it. Strength training is usually not my favorite thing, so group exercise sounds like a great way to get me motivated!

group exercise

This Livestrong article discusses the benefits of group exercise. Not only would I be motivated to do my best because other people are around, but I would also be exposed to new workouts. I tend to fall into routines very easily, leaving me bored and unmotivated. I also know that when your body does one workout all the time, it becomes accustomed to it and doesn’t have to work as hard.

crossfit

Crossfitters know what they’re talking about!

I have always wanted to try a spin class, because I’ve heard they can be crazy hard! I would also love to try a Body Pump class, a Barre class, and maybe even Zumba! It all sounds so fun and exciting to me, and I so wish that I was able to take them. At this point in time, I have a membership at Planet Fitness. I love their cheap membership fees, but those low fees are also the reason that they don’t provide group exercise classes. Another nearby option is L.A. fitness, but their membership fees are way out of my budget. Although I could use ASU’s gym, it is far away from home and would be very inconvenient. I would also have to pay for my exercise classes.

For now, I’m thinking that my best bet are workout DVD’s. I’m guessing that I can find all sorts of good workout DVD’s if I look around enough. I already have P90X- I’m looking for something a little less time consuming. I want to be able to spend 30 to 45 minutes on a workout before school. Until I get some DVD’s, I plan to keep up with using my Nike Training Club app!

Do you enjoy group exercise classes or working out on your own?

Do you have any DVD recommendations for someone who doesn’t have a way to attend group exercise classes?

2 thoughts on “Craving Group Exercise

  1. I love group fitness classes, but right now I only have time for my running group. I recently found FitnessGlo and love it! It’s a monthly subscription to online classes and there is a ton of variety. It’s really affordable too and so far I haven’t “taken” a class that I didn’t like. There are a lot of 20, 30 and 45 minute workouts. You should definitely try it out!

Leave a Reply

