Girls on the Run so Far

Happy Friday! Surprisingly, this week actually went by fairly quickly for me. If this is an indication of how quickly the rest of my semester will go by, I’ll take it!

This morning I went out for a two mile run. It was my first run of the week, so it felt good to hit the pavement again.

My experience with Girls on the Run so far

I wanted to talk to you about how I’ve been liking Girls on the Run. This will be a picture-less posts because I will not be posting pictures of the girls. I’ll use bullet points to break things up a little bit.

  • I love the mission of this program. I absolutely love what Girls on the Run aims to do for young girls. When I first heard about it, I could not believe that something like this existed! The program teaches the girls about nutrition, body image, bullying, and exercise, among many other things. I would love to put my daughter(s) in this program (when I have them of course ;)).
  • I love my coaches. The women that I coach with are truly wonderful. The love that they have for the girls is so evident in every lesson. There are 7 of us coaches, and 5 of them are mothers of the girls themselves. One actually teaches at ASU, and the other assistant coach is a student at ASU and knows people that I went to high school with. It’s a small world!
  • The girls are learning. I wondered how much of the information the girls would actually retain, as they are in school as well as going to GOTR lessons twice a week. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the girls really do love the program, and they do their best to remember everything that we have taught them. It’s so fun to see them improving their running skills each week, and it’s even more wonderful to see them growing together as a community and encouraging their fellow Girls on the Run.
  • It’s hard to do with 40 girls. From what I have heard, GOTR is best suited to groups of 12 to 15 girls, maybe 20 at most. Well, we have 40 at our site. We split them up into two groups for the lesson portion, but they do all the games, warm-ups, workouts, etc. together. To be honest, it can be a little overwhelming. I think that all of the girls are absolutely fantastic, but I wonder if it could be more personal if our group were smaller.
  • I don’t know the girls very well, at all. This one makes me sad. Between the amount of girls and me only being able to attend once a week, I have barely gotten to know the girls at all. If I’m being honest, I still don’t know some of their names. I wish that I could attend both days of the week, but I cannot due to my school schedule. I am really bummed that I have not gotten to know them well. Part of the reason I was so excited to coach was to form a bond with the girls.
  • I want to coach again. I really do love it, and I hope to coach again soon. Girls on the Run has one spring season and one fall season every year, and I am still deciding if I just want to participate in one or both. Someday, I would like to head coach. I could never do it now because of my other responsibilities (mostly school), and honestly because I am not confident enough to head coach at this point. Next time I decide to coach, I will try to get on a site that is much closer to my home or school. I drive for about and hour and 10 minutes just to get home every Friday, and it’s just a lot of driving. The drive is definitely worth it for the girls, but next season I may not be able to spare the time that I can now.

So that’s how I’m feeling so far! To any women out there who are active and love working with children, I definitely recommend coaching with Girls on the Run! If you have the time, it really is a wonderful thing to be a part of. If you don’t have time to coach but still want to be involved, you can sign up to be a Running Buddy at the 5k!

We still have 5 weeks left in our season, so I’m sure more thoughts will come to me. I’ll be sure to post a final summary when the season is over!

Have a good weekend!

Feel free to share your opinions/experiences in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Girls on the Run so Far

  1. I’m glad you are having such a good experience coaching. I was a coach for a few years and got so much out of it! I can’t believe you have 40 girls though….that is huge! My chapter limits group sizes to no more than 15. Unfortunately though that means some girls aren’t able to participate.

    • It really is huge! It’s crazy- we actually had to turn girls down just to keep it at 40. It’s definitely a large group, but it’s pretty neat to see that so many girls want to participate.

  2. Pingback: A Movie-Filled Weekend | More Than the Miles

Leave a Reply

