Lent So Far

Hey guys. How goes it?

Honestly, yesterday was a long day for me. We had problems in our lab group, then I went to the mall to go dress shopping, walked around forever, and found nothing. I didn’t eat much, which left me with a massive headache, then to top it all off, I finished reading Insurgent (the second book in the Divergent series), and I always get depressed when I finish a book. By the time I went to bed, I was exhausted, my head was aching, and I was just in a grumpy mood. Hopefully today will be better!

Now that my rant is out of the way… I wanted to talk about how Lent is going so far. For those of you who don’t know, I gave up chocolate for Lent this year. It was kind of a big decision for me, considering I ate chocolate every.single.day. The purpose of Lent is not to make yourself miserable, but to give up something that you will truly miss, and even struggle to give up. The point is that when you want whatever you are fasting from, you will think of Christ and His sacrifice that He made for us. This is why I really love Lent.

Since I haven’t been eating chocolate, desserts have been limited. I still try to have something sweet (otherwise I have major cravings), but it isn’t always a huge dessert anymore. It usually might be a few Jelly Beans, or a small cookie. When we go for froyo, my cup looks something like this:

securedownload (22)

Cake batter with sprinkles, iced animal cookies, and waffle cone

Normally, I load my froyo up with just about every chocolate topping available- not exaggerating here. But I must admit that I am liking my current flavor combo! I haven’t had froyo much lately though, because Ben’s sweet tooth seems to be fading (not sure how I feel about it 😉 ). My ice cream cone at Disneyland looked like this:

securedownload (21)

It was just eh. I don’t care for vanilla, so once I got past the sprinkles I was pretty much done

It’s still pretty tough to be without chocolate at times, but I am glad that this has broken my major dessert habit! Plus, I only have 17 days left 🙂 Every time I want chocolate, I am reminded of the reason behind the Easter season. It really is a beautiful thing 🙂

Do you participate in Lent?

Leave a Reply

