Redneck Run 5k

This past Saturday, I ran the Redneck Run 5k with Ben. And guess what?! It was a PR!!! I believe that I have mentioned my goal of wanting to run a 5k in under 30 minutes, and I FINALLY did it! Our official chip time was 29:23!

redneck

I really couldn’t believe that we did it. It was so hard for me, but having Ben there to push me is what got me through it. Ben always encourages me to run as fast as I can, but he also assures me that we can slow down whenever I need to. If I’m being honest, we were both struggling! We started out pretty fast (for me) which I knew would be a bad idea. I like to pace myself, rather than burn out at the end. Ben, on the other hand, just wants to go go go! We finished the first mile in 9:26. I was feeling good, but I was out of breath almost immediately. Considering I normally run around a 10:30-10:40 pace,  jumping to a 9:26 was really big for me! We finished our second mile in 9:20. At one point, I looked at my Garmin and we were running at an 8:50 pace. I told Ben we needed to slow down because I could NOT make it the whole way running that fast! We ran mile 3 in 9:30. Our unofficial finish time was 29:19.

 securedownload (10)

My Garmin FINALLY reached (and surpassed) the actual race distance!

I was so proud of us! We both felt like puking when we stopped (lovely, I know), so we walked around a bit to catch our breath. The race started around 3 PM, which was really tough for me. I usually won’t even run after breakfast, let alone breakfast and lunch! Plus, I was really worried about the sun and the heat. We did pretty well, all things considered! We don’t usually stick around for any post-race activities, so we headed back to the truck.

securedownload (5)

After we finished!

Overall, I thought this was a pretty cute race. It was the first year they’ve ever done it, and it went fairly smoothly. The only complaint I have is that we didn’t exactly know when our 5k group was supposed to start. This race offered a 1 mile run, a 5k, and a 10k relay run. From what we heard over the announcements, the 1 mile group was to go first, then the 10k group, then the 5k. Well, the music that they were playing was so loud that we couldn’t hear the announcer! A big group took off, and we couldn’t tell which group it was. We heard someone say that it was the 5k, so we jumped in a little late. On the course, we were still trying to figure out if we were in our 5k group or the 1 mile group. Thankfully we were in the right one! Other than that little hiccup, everything went smoothly. There were bands and water stations along the course, as well as bands and plenty of games at the start/finish area. We picked up our packets on race day and it went quickly and smoothly.

securedownload (7)

I thought that the race shirts were pretty cool! I’ve never gotten a technical tank at a race, so I thought it was unique. It was super comfy too! I decided to run the race in it because I didn’t really like the shirt that I was wearing originally.

securedownload (8)

The medals were pretty cute, too! I thought the bottle opener idea was cute. Too bad I don’t drink beer. Or alcohol. Or anything but water…

securedownload (9)

I got to add another medal to my display! I obviously don’t run for the medal, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t love to get them. There’s just something about getting a medal after a run that’s really rewarding to me.

After we went home and showered, Ben and I went to Chili’s for dinner. Then we headed over to Ben’s uncle’s house to hang out with family for the night. It was a great day, and I got a shiny new PR! 😉

securedownload (6)

5 thoughts on “Redneck Run 5k

  1. That’s so awesome!! My goal is to also run a sub 30 minute 5k! It’s going to take a lot of work, but I think I can do it (someday) 😉

      • True! My one running buddy is super fast – like under 8 min/miles. I may have to try tagging along with him for a while haha.

Leave a Reply

