What I Did on Wednesday (#3)- Summer is upon us and I get way too attached to fictional characters

That title is a bit wordy, but I feel like I have a lot to talk about today!

Yesterday, I woke up around 8 AM. It felt good to sleep in a bit, but I was still mentally and physically exhausted from not getting enough sleep for the past few days. I opted to go for a walk instead of a run, and I’m kind of glad because it was getting toasty outside!

securedownload

75 degrees may not seem hot, but since I sweat and overheat easily, I was hot and sweaty and uncomfortable by the end of my three miles. It felt good to move though!

When I got home, I decided to tackle my planks and squats for the day. To be honest, I got behind on them both over the weekend. I decided to try to catch up , which meant that I ended up doing a total of 115 squats and 3 minutes and 15 seconds of planks! I was shaking all over by the end (and for a while after I finished). I still didn’t catch up on my squats, but I’m only one day behind so I’ll catch up on the next rest day.

securedownload (11)

securedownload (1)

My third plank of the day!

After working out, I showered and had breakfast. My dad made breakfast burritos with egg, sausage, cheese, and potatoes. AND he made them with left over tortillas from a local Mexican restaurant! I don’t know about you guys, but I think that tortillas from Mexican restaurants are the best. 

securedownload (12)

Burrito! With a bowl of strawberries on the side.

After breakfast, I worked on my lab report for Chemistry. It was utterly boring. I’ll spare you the details.

securedownload (13)

Somewhere along the way, I stopped and made myself lunch.

securedownload (17)

I munched on some baby carrots, trying to get more vegetables into my diet. I don’t particularly care for vegetables, so I have to make a conscious effort to eat them.

securedownload (18)

The main course was a waffle with peanut butter. Not spectacular, but it’s one of my favorites. It didn’t do a good job of holding me over though!

While working on homework, I kept getting distracted by the Divergent series. I finished the final book Monday, and I have not been able to stop thinking about it since. Any free moment I get I find myself searching Pinterest for Divergent quotes, pictures, tattoos, etc.

***IF YOU DON’T WANT TO KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THE ENDING OF THE SERIES, DO NOT READ BELOW!!!***

***I won’t really be giving anything away, but I still don’t want to ruin anything for anyone who may still be reading. Again, if you don’t want to know ANYTHING, please skip over this section!!!***

I always find myself getting very attached to the stories I read, and even more attached to the characters. I laugh with them, cry with them, grow with them, and love them. I am happy when they are happy, and my heart breaks when theirs break. While reading the Divergent series, I grew to love Tris and Tobias. I felt that I watched their relationship grow. I was there in the beginning, when Tris was just a “stiff” from Abnegation and Tobias was cold and guarded. I watched as he began to show interest in her, and I was there as she discovered her feelings for him. I was there the first time he touched her face, the first time he kissed her, and the first time he told her he loved her. I was there through their fights, and there when they made up again. I was there when they finally reached a happy and healthy spot in their relationship. When the series ended the way that it did, I was absolutely heartbroken. A dull ache has been residing in my chest all week. As ridiculous as it sounds, it feels like I have lost someone that I love. When I was finishing Allegiant, I began crying about 50 pages away from the end. Even though I knew what was going to happen, there was no way to prepare myself for it. By the end of the book, I was wheezing and bawling all over the place. I tried to focus on homework, but ended up breaking down and crying two more times…randomly. Finally, to prolong my misery, I reread the last few chapters before going to sleep. That re-opened the flood gates, and more tears came. Now that it’s Thursday, I’m doing okay again. I suppose I’m telling you all this because I am hoping that I am not the only one out here who gets this attached to fictional characters! While they are fictional, they are real in our hearts. I have learned a lot from Tris and Tobias. They taught me about love, bravery, kindness, honesty, knowledge, and selflessness. Veronica Roth did a fantastic job with these books, and I am thankful that I had the chance to read them.

I am book-obsessed.

securedownload (16)

***And now back to your regular programming*

Ahem, after thinking about that^^^ for most of the day, I headed off to school. Again, it was pretty toasty outside as I was walking to school.

securedownload (2)

91 degrees! I think it’s safe to say that summer is upon us here in AZ, although this is just the beginning. Notice that the high for today is 99!

When I got home from class, I munched on some veggie straws until Ben came to pick me up.

securedownload (19)

securedownload (14)

I really cannot get enough of these lately. Too bad they don’t count toward my 5 servings of fruit and vegetables! 😉 Ben picked me up and headed out to Dick’s Sporting Goods so he could buy some golf stuff. By the time I got home, I was starving! I threw some fish in the oven, and dinner was done.

securedownload (15)

I also enjoyed a sugar cookie (or two) for dessert!

securedownload (20)

I spent the rest of the night doing homework, and went to bed exhausted!

What did you do Wednesday?

Do you get super attached to books or fictional characters?

Please tell me there are more of you out there! I truly learn so much from “my” fictional characters, and they will always be real in my heart.

Leave a Reply

