Chocolate Overload

I am a self-proclaimed chocolate fanatic.

Before Lent, I ate it every day. Now that Lent is over, I’m pretty much back to eating it every day.

securedownload (40)

Easter goodies from my mom and Ben’s mom!

This has resulted in me feeling pretty crappy these last few days! I told myself that I would only eat it a few times a week, but sure enough temptation has crept back in. Over the past few days, I have had a little too much chocolate cake, ice cream, and candy. I suppose that is to be expected when you go without something for so long.

I’m a little worried, because I have a history of binge-eating. I can feel my old habits creeping back up on me. The urge to dig into chocolate and sweets when I’m by myself is starting to consume my thoughts a little more than it should.

securedownload (41)

Homemade cake from my dad

I plan to tackle this problem head on. First of all, I am telling YOU about this so that you can help keep me accountable! I’ve learned that the best way to fix our problems is with support from others. Second, I am just going to let my body have what it wants when it is truly craving it. This means that if I want chocolate, I will make myself wait for about ten minutes or so while I relax and drink some water. After ten minutes, if I still want chocolate, I will find and enjoy a small treat. No good comes from denying ourselves treats every now and then for no good reason. As long as I can maintain moderation, I can avoid falling into a bad habit and another unhealthy relationship with food.

It will be a little tough, but I’m hoping I can get it under control now! Thank you for your support!

How do you get yourself back on track after consuming to much “junk?”

What motivates you to eat healthy?

Leave a Reply

