Getting Enough Sleep

Hey guys, sorry I didn’t post yesterday! I didn’t have time to post in the morning so I meant to post when I got home from school, but the day totally got away from me! Oops. Also, there’s no Meet Madison post today because I’m working on getting pictures together for my next one. Hopefully it’ll be ready next Wednesday 🙂

This morning I headed out for a run and it was crazy windy, so I ended up running one mile and walking one. After my fairly lazy month in terms of exercise, I’m working on just easing back into working out by doing whatever my body is feeling that day. So far, so good!

I haven’t been getting nearly enough sleep lately. And by lately, I mean since I started college 9 months ago. The lack of sleep has been taking its toll on me. I feel “bleh” all the time and my eyes are baggy. Let’s not even mention trying to get out of bed in the mornings…

Good Morning

Ya feel me?

Since my exhausting weekend, I’ve been working on getting enough sleep. Sunday night I slept for 9 hours and woke up feeling so refreshed. I got out of bed right when my alarm clock went off and headed out for my first “real” run in almost a month. I completed 3 (tough) miles, and it was great to finally get moving again. I also got a pretty good amount of sleep Monday and Tuesday night, and I’m noticing that I’m already feeling better. Here’s some things to know about sleep:

  • Everyone should aim for 7 to 9 hours of sleep a night.
  • People sometimes think that only too little sleep is bad for you, but too much sleep is also bad for you!
  • Getting 7 to 9 hours of sleep a night can help you maintain a healthy weight.
  • Sleep gives your body time to recover. This is especially important for those of us who workout often. We need to get enough sleep so that our muscles can begin to rebuild.
  • Generally, if you get enough sleep at night you will be in a better mood the next day!

These are just a few things that people should know about sleep! I know that when I don’t get enough sleep, I’m grumpy, I tend to eat more, I can’t focus on school or homework, and the list goes on and on! I truly feel best when I get 8 or 9 hours of sleep a night. Because this is the last week of school, I’m wanting to stay up late to get as much study and homework time as I can. However, I’m going to be watching myself and trying to get in bed no later than 10 pm!

How many hours of sleep do you need to feel refreshed?

Like I said, I feel best when I get around 8 or 9 hours of sleep, which rarely happens. I know some people, however, who can’t sleep for more than 4 or 5 hours a night. Talk about crazy!

2 thoughts on “Getting Enough Sleep

  1. I need 7-8 hours of sleep ideally. Another helpful rule is that you need an extra minute of sleep each night for every mile you run each week. So, 15 miles in a week means you should go to bed 15 minutes earlier each night. I hope you are able to get into a good routine soon!

Leave a Reply

