Dreaming of a Marathon

A few months ago, I mentioned that one of my goals for this year was to sign up for my first FULL marathon. Eeeek! My feelings about a running a full marathon go in phases. Sometimes, usually after a good run, I feel like I want to really challenge myself. I want that pride that comes with finishing a full marathon. Other days (more often than not, I might add), running more than 2 miles sounds exhausting. Granted, I’m a little burnt out from school at the moment. I’m sure that when I get to relax a bit I’ll get back into running a little more. Here are some of the reasons I’m hesitant to sign up:

  • 26.2 miles is a lot of miles. I mean, how can anyone runย 26.2 miles?? I felt like dying after my first half. Not only is it a lot to run, it’s a lot to train for! Running up to 40 miles in a week is crazy for someone like me, bringing me to my next point…
  • I’m injury prone. I get shin splints like nobody’s business, and I also have knee and foot problems if I run too often. While marathon training, I would have to run 4 days a week. That’s more than I’m used to. Add on about 20 extra miles a week that I’m not used to (more like 30 extra miles at this point), and I’m afraid that I’m bound to get injured. I’m also terrible at stretching and foam rolling, which I realize I will have to change.
  • My schedule. This is the NUMBER ONE reason that I am hesitant. The first reason is just fear, which I can overcome. The second can be resolved if I take care of my body. But my schedule? Unfortunately I can’t change it. Here’s the problem: Theย latestย that I can leave the house next semester (when I’ll be training) is 9:30 in the morning. That’s fine for 3-6 mile runs, but what happens when I have to run 10 miles in the morning? To run 10 miles before school, I’d have to get up at 5:00 at the latest to run and be ready to leave on time. I can tell you right now that that probably will not happen. I won’t be able to finish all my homework and get to bed early enough to wake up at that hour!
  • I work most Saturdays. This goes hand-in-hand with scheduling, obviously. The problem is that when I work, I have to leave around 9:15. I have NO idea how I could fit 15-20 mile runs in before I have to leave! I could try to schedule work around the extremely long runs, but obviously that can’t happen every time. That leaves Sundays as the only open days, and that would mean missing church for months, something that I’m not exactly down with.

All of these are legit reasons to be hesitant. I’m wondering if this is a sign that I should wait for another year when it might work better with my schedule. I’m also wondering if I should just suck it up and do it now! I mean, there will always be excuses, and it will honestly never be convenient. I know that I need to just suck it up and do it, I’m just trying to find the best time. So I have some questions for any marathoners out there:

  • Would I still benefit from splitting my shorter runs into two parts? For example, on a day that a 10 mile run is scheduled, I could do 5 before school and 5 after school (hopefully the weather would be decent enough for this). Is it important that I run 10 straight miles, or more important that I just get the mileage in?
  • How were you able to fit in your extremely long runs? I’m thinking that I will have to stop working Saturdays if this is going to be an option for me. I don’t know how else I could fit them in!
  • How did you keep yourself from getting injured?

I would love to hear from anyone who has advice, even if you yourself haven’t ran a full marathon! Anything helps ๐Ÿ™‚ this is a dream of mine that I really want to accomplish, but I want to make sure that I can actually follow through before I commit.

 

2 thoughts on “Dreaming of a Marathon

  1. I definitely think that you have to REALLY want it to make the commitment. If it’s something you want badly enough you’ll be ok with the sacrifices you have to make. If you aren’t totally committed it will be easy to make excuses and not train properly. I haven’t run a full yet because I’m just not ready to make it such a huge priority. Good luck with whatever you decide to do!

    • Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚ I agree, I know that I will have to make sacrifices whenever I decide to do it, but I’m not sure if I want to sacrifice my grades in school (or my health). I can picture myself putting off school work to get to bed early, or the other way around!

Leave a Reply

