How I Didn’t Gain the “Freshman Fifteen”

Hey guys! Sorry I didn’t check in yesterday, I was busy studying for my last final! This morning I took my Chemistry final at 7:30 this morning…far too early for my taste. But, I’m DONE. I’m done with my freshman year of college!

My first day of college: How my parents wanted me to feel vs. how I really felt.

 

Going into it, I really had no idea what to expect.  I was nervous to be sure. I’ll likely do a post reflecting on what I learned this past school year, but for now I thought I would talk about how I didn’t gain the “freshman fifteen.” I don’t strictly watch my weight anymore, but I think I’ve actually lost at least 5 pounds since my freshman year began.

  • I ran quite a bit. Running two half marathons sure can help to keep your weight in check. I ran a lot of miles in training. And even when I was done with the half marathons, I continued to run smaller races.
  • I’m a health major. Because of my field of study, I was constantly taking health classes. This meant that I should have no excuse to let my health get out of hand. I was constantly learning new things, and I was always surrounded by extremely fit people. Because I am going into health, I consider it my responsibility to maintain my own health.
  • I live at home. This could be a plus or a minus, and I think it was a little bit of both for me. On the one hand, being at home meant that I was surrounded by the foods that my parents like to eat. We all like junk food quite a bit, and being at home meant that I couldn’t control the food that I was surrounded by. Had I been living in a dorm, I would have been able to choose the food that I bought, and could have tried to focus on healthy foods. On the other hand, being at home meant that I had almost constant access to fresh foods, unless we slacked on grocery shopping that week. Had I been in the dorms, I would have been eating in the cafeteria. From what I’ve heard, their produce was never very good. I likely would have found myself going for pizza rather than salad on most days. Living at home for the win!
  • I don’t party or drink. I know that not all college students party (obviously), but I think it’s one of the huge reasons that so many freshman gain those 15 pounds…excessive alcohol consumption will do that to you. I don’t drink alcohol at all- I’m not of age and it tastes bad to me.
  • I had to walk everywhere. Because I had to park off campus, I had a good 10 to 15 minute walk to and from campus everyday, depending on where my classes were. I also had to walk to my classes throughout the day, some of which were pretty far apart. All that walking was extra exercise that my body wasn’t used to, and I think I benefited from it.
  • I was at school a lot. Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays, I was away from home for most of the day. This meant that I had to either pack a lunch or buy one. Being the cheapskate that I am, I opted to pack my lunch most days. This also meant that I ate what I packed, and usually nothing else. Being at school all day kept me from getting bored and mindlessly grazing like I probably would at home. I packed my snacks, and unless I was really hungry, I didn’t buy any extra food.

These are a few of the ways that I avoided the “freshman fifteen!” It was never really something I was worried about, but it’s still nice to see that I was able to maintain my health throughout my freshman year.

2 thoughts on “How I Didn’t Gain the “Freshman Fifteen”

Leave a Reply

