Summer Reads

Last week, I mentioned that I don’t really have any summer plans. So the other day I sat down and made a summer “to-read” list!

  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower

the_perks_of_being_a_wallflower_book_cover_drawing_by_pigwigeon-d5j78el

I actually just read this book yesterday! It was a really quick read, I think it only took me about 4 hours to get through it. I put it on this list anyways just to tell you a little about it. I must say, there were lots of twists in this book that I was not expecting! The book is written by a 15-16 year old boy who goes by the alias of “Charlie.” He is writing to an anonymous “friend” to recap his freshman year of high school. Charlie must work through many things in life, including family problems, first love, sex, drugs, alcohol, abuse, and repressed memories. It’s a heavier book than I expected it to be, especially considering it was written from the point of view of a 15 year old boy. I really enjoyed it!

  • Looking for Alaska

book_cover_looking_for_alaska

I don’t know much about this book, but I believe that it is written from the point of view of a boy who is a junior in high school. He wants change in his life, so he opts to move from Florida to a boarding school in Alabama. While at school, he meets an extremely attractive yet emotionally unstable girl named Alaska Young. That’s about all I know! I definitely think that this will be next on my list.

  • The Fault in Our Stars

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

Of course I HAVE to read this book. I was taking some time to let my emotions recover from the Divergent series, but I suppose it’s time. This book is about a teenage cancer patient, Hazel, who meets a boy named Augustus at a cancer support group. The two fall in love and give new meaning to each other’s lives, despite how short their time together may be. It’ll be a tear-jerker for sure!

  • Four: The Transfer (A Divergent Story)

four-short-story-the-transfer-cover-630

MORE DIVERGENT?!? What what! Yes please. AND this one is a collection of short stories written from Four/Tobias’ point of view. FYI Tobias is one of my all time favorite fictional characters. I have already read one “chapter” of this book, but I decided to wait until the whole thing comes out to read the rest. I.can’t.wait.

  • The Great Gatsby

Gatsby_1925_jacket

I have no idea why I haven’t read this yet. We had to do “choice novel” reports in high school. We got to choose a book from a list, read it, and write a report on it. Honestly, I started out reading all the books but slacked as the year went on. Yes, I sparknoted them. Unfortunately, Gatsby was one of those books that didn’t get read. I know the summary obviously, but I can’t wait to read it for myself! I see the quotes all over Pinterest and they look wonderful.

  • The Maze Runner Series

Tumblr_m13nadp4zw1qb7895o1_500

I don’t know very much about this series, but I know that it falls under the same category of The Hunger Games and Divergent. I am really into dystopian novels, and I think this one falls under that category (I sure hope it does!). I’ve heard great things about it, and there’s a prequel which makes me happy πŸ™‚

I took a break from reading for a while, but Divergent got me back into it. I am so glad that it did. Books transport us into whole other worlds, and I cannot wait to dive into these.

Have you read any of these books? How were they?

What do you plan on reading in the near future?

3 thoughts on “Summer Reads

  1. I will be reading the wheel of time series… The series is just awesome… I am reading book 5 and I am totally hooked….enjoy reading… Next on my list would be couple of books you listed. I saw the movie ‘perks of being a wallflower’ and realised the movie was very well balanced. Yet to read the book. Enjoy summers and happy reading..:)

    • Thank you! I will have to look into that series! I love it when series are longer than a trilogy…it means it doesn’t end quite as fast πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Protein Waffle | More Than the Miles

Leave a Reply

