Strength Training Makes Me Sleepy

Hey guys! I hope you’re having a good week so far! I worked yesterday, and the day was long and interesting. I’m glad to have today to relax a bit, but I’m going to get started on homework here pretty soon.

Lately I’ve been trying to work strength training back into my routine. So far, so good! I’m constantly feeling sore andΒ lovingΒ it. I really feel like I’m getting a good workout in! The only downside is that it has made running pretty hard for me. When my legs are as sore as they are, I have a hard time running. It’s been a bit of a struggle, but I keep telling myself to push through it. I know that a mix of cardio and strength is what my body needs!

Here’s a look at some of the strength workouts I’ve been doing lately:

  • P90x Yoga X

yogax

I did this yoga Monday, and I’m still feeling it today! It’s definitely tough for me because I have neither flexibility nor balance, but that makes it a good challenge. My abs and shoulders are feeling it the most! I let Ben borrow my P90x, so until he finishes I’m just borrowing discs from him when I want them.

  • P90x Plyometrics

plyo

Another P90x workout I stole was Plyometrics! I mentioned it already, but I LOVE this one. It challenges me without completely overworking my body. It’s great cardio and leg training!

  • Jillian’s 30 Day Shred

51QlqI3yaOL._SY300_

I also mentioned this workout last week. It’s not my favorite workout DVD, and I don’t really enjoy it, but it gets the job done. It’s nice to have on hand when I need a quick workout. It did leave me sore though, so I’ll give it that!

  • Jillian Michaels’ Yoga Meltdown

Jillian_Michaels_Yoga_Meltdown

I just bought this Monday, and I actually haven’t tried it yet. It’s going to be my workout this morning! It’s supposed to be a fast-paced yoga workout that takes you quickly through yoga moves in order to tone and burn calories. I’m super excited because it got pretty rave reviews!

I’ve also been using my Nike Training Club app every now and then when I need a workout. I’ve been struggling with both strength training and running lately, but I know that if I stick with it my body will begin to change and do what it’s supposed to do. I must say though, all this strength training is making me SO sleepy! I’ve been ready to go to bed super early this week, although I don’t actually end up getting to sleep until late at night. I’m pretty tired all the time so I’ve been sleeping in a little later on the days that I don’t run. I’m not complaining πŸ™‚

Do you prefer strength or cardio?

What is your favorite workout DVD?

Do you find it hard to run when you strength train?

One thought on “Strength Training Makes Me Sleepy

  1. Pingback: When Is The Best TIME To Workout? | Beech Body Body

Leave a Reply

