Home Alone

Last week, my parents arrived back home after being out of town for around 5 days. This was the first time that I have stayed home alone overnight. Ever.

I totally thought that I would be fine. I’d just go to sleep and wake up in the morning. No big deal.

Boy, was I wrong.

The first night was awful! I was completely on edge the entire time, and performed a thorough search of my house before (finally) heading to bed late in the night. I considered staying up all night watching TV just to give me some peace of mind, but decided against it on account of having work the next morning.

The second night was just as bad, if not worse. I was at Ben’s house that evening, so coming home to a dark, empty house was not cool! Granted we live in a pretty safe neighborhood, have three dogs, AND an alarm system, I should have felt fairly safe. I am known to be a worrier, though 🙂 I kept telling myself, “Come on Madison, thousands of women live alone and do just fine.” I think it would be different if I were in an apartment, but it was pretty eerie staying by myself in a fairly large house at night. The third night was slightly better. I was able to fall asleep without much of a problem. The fourth night was MUCH better! I seemed to have finally gotten fairly used to it.

That being said, I was pretty relieved when my dad ended up coming home two nights early. Being home alone during the day- awesome. At night? Not so much! Hence my plan of bummin’ it in my parents’ house until I get married so I never have to live alone…fingers crossed! 😉

Next time both of my parents want to leave at the same time, I’ll think about it a little more before pushing them out the door 😉

I’m glad to have them both back now!

Do you have problems spending nights alone?

Leave a Reply

