Sleepless Nights + A Full Body Workout

Happy Monday everyone. I’m a little bummed the weekend is over, but I’m ready to get through this week to get to next weekend 😉 Work schedule this week: tonight, Wednesday night, Thursday night; then I’m off! I’m a little nervous about this week because they have me working the front counter all by myself. While I feel pretty confident in my ability to handle basic transactions, I know there are going to be situations in which I’ll have to call someone up to the front to help me. After all, it is only my third time on the register! Anyways, I’m hoping it all goes smoothly for the most part.

You’re probably wondering why “Sleepless Nights” is in my title. Well, let me tell you! 🙂

Part 1: I worked until 9 PM last Thursday night. That was supposed to be my last day of work that week, but before I left, one of my managers asked me if I could come in for a few hours Friday morning. After agreeing, I headed home to get some sleep. One problem- I couldn’t fall asleep! I knew that I needed to get up at 6 AM in the morning, and I bet you I didn’t fall asleep until (at least!) 1 AM. I didn’t check the clock because I was actually afraid of what I would see! After hours of tossing and turning, I must have finally fallen asleep. Another problem- I woke up at 5 AM and could not go back to sleep. I am the type who needs 8 hours of sleep to feel rested, so 4 hours was just not cutting it for me. Needless to say, I was pretty sleepy Friday.

Part 2: Friday evening, my friends and I celebrated one of my friend’s birthday. We headed out to dinner at the Cheesecake Factory, and headed back to the house to watch TV and talk. I was hoping to get to sleep at a decent hour to try to recharge. Long story short- we ended up talking until 5 AM. I got a total of THREE hours of sleep that night. I was running on fumes Saturday. Unfortunately, I couldn’t take a nap because I had a ton of homework due Saturday night that I had to get through. Needless to say, Saturday night was glorious. I slept about 9 hours and woke up feeling somewhat better. That being said, even today I’m still feeling pretty sleepy!

A Full Body Workout

This morning, I slept in a bit and woke up to complete a full body strength workout that looked like this:

Set One- Legs

  • 20 calf raises (15 lb. dumbbells)
  • 15 curtsy lunges each leg (10 lb. dumbbells)
  • 20 calf raises (15 lb. dumbbells)
  • 12 curtsy lunges each leg (12 lb. dumbbells)
  • 20 calf raises (15 lb. dumbbells)
  • 8 curtsy lunges (15 lb. dumbbells)

Set Two- Upper body

  • 10 chest press/chest fly/tricep extension combo (8 lb. dumbbells)
  • 15 bicep curls each arm (10 lb. dumbbells)
  • 10 chest press/chest fly/tricep extension combo (8 lb. dumbbells)
  • 12 bicep curls each arm (12 lb. dumbbells)
  • 10 chest press/chest fly/tricep extension combo (8 lb. dumbbells)
  • 8 bicep curls each arm (15 lb. dumbbells)

Set Three- Abs

  • 10 leg lifts (on bench)
  • 30 second plank
  • {repeat for total of 3x}

Links to some of the moves:

Before beginning, I warmed up my muscles by doing jumping jacks, high-knees, and butt-kicks. This workout took me about 30 minutes to complete, but I was going a little slow at the end. I’m sure it could be done faster than I did it.

I’m off to do homework and go to work tonight…talk to you tomorrow!

Can you function on just a few hours of sleep, or do you need a lot?

Leave a Reply

