Beginning My Yoga Journey

Hi there!

It’s Tuesday, and I don’t work again until Friday, meaning I’m a happy girl! I’ll be spending these three days off working on homework and hanging out with Ben 🙂 I am officially 11 days away from the end of summer school! Woohoo!

Beginning My Yoga Journey

I’ve been toying with the idea of getting “serious” about yoga for quite some time now, but the only experience I have with it is from P90X and my awful go at hot yoga. Yoga has always intimidated me, as I am not flexible at all. Truly, I cannot even explain to you how inflexible I am! Stretching of any kind nearly pains me to tears because I have neglected it for so many years. Needlesss to say, I have a lot of work to do.

All of that being said, something about yoga still intrigues me. I love the idea of a low-intensity, non-impact workout that still benefits the body. I can’t wait to begin working on my flexibility and balance, as well as my strength. I am not looking to do intense yoga like Jillian’s Yoga Meltdown. I am looking to do yoga that focuses on flexibility and balance.

73b78eb3151e1eb1afe62b525b148d83

I would love to be able to master the crow pose! {photo found on Pinterest- original source unknown}

I still have a few reservations and questions. Should I give up strength training altogether for yoga? Should I do it every day? Is it really a good workout? Or is it just glorified stretching? Although I still don’t know the answers to some of these questions, I have made a plan that I hope will work for me! I hope to get into a routine of doing yoga 3x per week, cardio 3x per week, and strength 3x per week. I hope that this will look like alternating cardio + yoga days with strength days. The nice thing about yoga is that it is something that can be done at any time of day. A lot of my yoga sessions will likely happen after work or before bed, and that’s okay with me!

As for how I plan to go about practicing, yesterday I bought the Yoga Studio app on my phone. I like this app because you can choose beginner, intermediate, and advanced workouts; as well as balance, strength, flexibility, or combination focus. Finally, you can choose the duration of your workout. Most classes are either 15, 30, 45, or 60 minutes long. Yesterday, I did 30 minutes of beginner strength and 15 minutes of beginner flexibility. I hope to get a little more used to the beginner level before moving into intermediate.

iphone_white_1

So this is the beginning of my yoga journey! I will keep you all posted on how I am progressing, and maybe I’ll eventually even post pictures 🙂

Do you practice yoga?

If so, what do you love about it?

If not, what do you dislike about it?

 

Leave a Reply

