Killer Buns and Thighs Killed my Buns and Thighs

Lately I’ve been finding myself relying more and more on workout DVD’s to motivate me. I love the convenience of waking up, popping in a DVD, and getting my workout in. They’re (usually) quick, yet challenging, and I don’t have to think up my own routine.

I’ve been wanting to try Jillian Michael’s Killer Buns and Thighs DVD for a long time now, but my Target was sold out of it. After frequenting it once every week or so, they finally had one! I snatched it up right away, and Tuesday I gave it a try.

jillian

 

When reading the reviews, I found that a lot of people completed 30 Day Shred before moving on to Killer Buns and Thighs. They said that this better prepared them. Apparently I thought that I was a super star with super legs and that I could totally handle it.

Not so!

This workout was tough, and I was only on level 1 of 3! I have to admit that even the warm-up was tough for me! Some of the moves were familiar, some were new-to-me, all were difficult and effective! My glutes, quads, and hamstrings were burning throughout the workout, and I found myself having to take breaks here and there. I can’t wait until I can do the workout all the way through! Another plus is that my hamstrings were sore the day after, which is rare because I always have a hard time working out my hamstrings.

jillian2

There were a few negative statements written in the reviews that I read, and I found them to be true as well. The first being that Jillian just talks, A LOT. I don’t mind talking at all; in fact, I enjoy it! But most of Jillian’s talking was with her “best girl” Natalie. They were joking around the whole time, and Natalie was often whining about having to do more difficult moves, which brings me to my next complaint. Natalie is supposed to be demonstrating advanced moves for those who are a little more in shape. However, when Jillian wasn’t looking, she would often totally dog the moves and do the beginner version until Jillian turned around. It’s a little annoying to hear Jillian yelling at us to give it all we have when one of her “best girls” is slacking off when she can get away with it. It makes me wonder how the video got through editing! You would think someone would have noticed…

Anyways, those are my only complaints, and they definitely weren’t serious enough to distract or take away from my workout. I’ll be doing it again today, and I can’t wait to see my legs and glutes getting stronger by the week!

Do you like or dislike workout DVD’s?

What is your favorite workout DVD?

Do you like Jillian Michaels?

6 thoughts on “Killer Buns and Thighs Killed my Buns and Thighs

  1. I’m working my way through 30 Day Shred right now and have ordered Body Revolution. I actually have enjoyed Jillian’s workouts so far because they are just short enough to keep my attention. I know exactly what you mean about Natalie, though–she does the exact. same. thing. in 30DS. I find after I do the workout for a little bit and know the moves, I turn down the volume and put on my own music and just follow along visually. That tends to help.

    • I totally agree with you on the workouts. It’s a lot easier for me to do an intense, 20 to 40 minute video of Jillian’s than it is to do something like p90x. I like Basheera from the Yoga Meltdown videos…she’s sweet, quiet, and does all the advanced moves with a smile on her face!

  2. I am current doing a 5 Week Body Transformation program and today will be the end of Week 5. I have been looking and thinking about what I’ll do after 5 week. My sister-in-law is doing her 30 Shred workout and I might do that, but I do like the fact that this DVD from what I can tell focuses solely on the lower body. Do you know if she has one that focuses on the upper body?

    • I actually don’t know of any of Jillian’s DVD’s that focus solely on upper body. She typically likes to work the arms and the legs at the same time. If you’re looking for something with a lot of upper body, I HIGHLY recommend p90x. Although I haven’t gone through the program, I do own the set and do certain workouts here and there. If you follow the program, it focuses a lot on upper body while still throwing in legs and yoga here and there for balance. Hope this helps!

      • I did some research but didn’t see anything solely for the upper body. I think my sister-in-law has the p90x program that someone gave her for some odd reason. I may look at using those. I like to work my lower body, because I don’t want to be one of those guys who is walking around only in shape from the waist up but has chicken legs.

        Thanks Madison!

Leave a Reply

