Yoga Poses I Love and Hate

Hey guys! Happy Thursday…4th of July is tomorrow! By the way, I posted again in the evening yesterday. If you missed it, be sure to check it out here 🙂

Since I’ve been doing so much yoga these days, I’ve encountered a lot of poses- both old and new to me. I thought it would be fun to show you some of my favorite, and least favorite, yoga poses!

I’ll start with the least favorite first to end on a positive note 😉

The “Hates”:

Lizard (Utthan Pristhasana)

lizard

This pose kills me! The girl from my yoga app can get her forearms all the way down to the floor, while I pretty much can’t stretch out at all. My hips must be pretty tight! I’m working on trying to lower the outside arm down to the ground gradually.

Fish (Matsyasana)

FishPose

{Unfortunately I forgot to take pictures of a few of them. Click on the photo for the original source}

This one is just weird to me. I don’t hate it, or even “dislike” it really, it just feels awkward to me. At first I was a little confused as to how to do it, but I think I’ve figured it out now. The variation that my app uses has me place my forearms on the ground under my back.

Standing Forward Bend (Uttanasana)

standing forward bend

I know, I know. Simplest pose ever, and I don’t like it? How can that be!? Again, it goes back to the flexibility thing. My hamstrings basically hate me, so they scream at me the whole time. As you can see, I have to bend my knees- and even then I still can’t get my head down to my legs. Oh well, I’ll get there slowly but surely! Click here to see what the pose is supposed to look like. Oh, and my dislike also applies to seated forward fold.

The “Loves”:

Child’s Pose (Balasana)

childs pose

Duh. This one probably goes without saying. There’s just something relaxing about curling into yourself as much as possible. Whenever I get to go into child’s pose during my practice, I try to savor it as much as I can!

Corpse Pose (Savasana)

corpse

This is another “duh” one. It typically comes toward the end of the workout, when I am working on relaxing all of my muscles. It’s nice to just be able to lay out and focus on calming down.

Tree Pose (Vrksasana)

tree pose2

I love this pose! Probably because I can actually do it without falling over. I like that it’s a balance pose that isn’t too easy but also isn’t difficult.

Bridge (Setubandasana)

bridge

I love this pose because it’s easier than wheel 😉 Bridge is a nice way to work your hamstrings and glutes during your yoga workout.

Knees to Chest (Apanasana)

knees to cheset

The reason I love this pose so much is that it helps to relax my lower back. In yoga, a lot of the poses require you to arch your back. Due to this, my back is always in pain by the end of a yoga session (anyone else have this problem?). Knees to chest helps to “undue” all that arching that my back had to do. I like to rock back and forth or make circles with my knees to help massage my back.

Crow Pose (Bakasana)

yoga22

This is my new favorite pose because I CAN DO IT!! Still so excited 🙂

I hope this gives you a little glimpse into my yoga routine! I go through a lot of poses; these are just a few that really stand out to me.

What are your favorite and least favorite yoga poses?

Leave a Reply

