Yoga Week 3 + Workout Recap

Hey there! I hope you all had a great holiday weekend. I pretty much worked the whole time, but it turned out to be alright because it kept me busy while Ben was out of town. I spent the 4th of July at work from noon to 6, and came home to some nice burgers that my dad had cooked! I also worked until 10 Saturday night and 8 last night. I work until 10 again tonight!

Workout Recap

  • Monday- 1 hour of beginner combination yoga, 1.8 mile walk (6,578 steps)
  • Tuesday- 1 hour of beginner combination yoga (2,435 steps)
  • Wednesday- 30 minutes of beginner strength yoga, 15 minutes of intermediate combination yoga (6,835 steps)
  • Thursday- 30 minutes of intermediate combination yoga (2,225 steps)
  • Friday- 1.15 mile walk (8,703 steps)
  • Saturday- 30 minutes of intermediate strength yoga (9,709 steps)
  • Sunday- Rest (8,124 steps)

As you can see, I did a lot of yoga, especially in the beginning of the week. This is because I couldn’t really do anything crazy while my tattoo was healing. I didn’t want to be sweating a ton and I didn’t want my nasty running shoes rubbing up against it. That being said, I didn’t get very many steps in this week. Apparently yoga doesn’t provide a lot of steps! Go figure 🙂 Even on the days that I work, it’s hard to get 10,000 steps in without some sort of run or walk.

At this point, I’m feeling pretty “yoga-ed out.” I was also feeling guilty due to not getting any intense workouts in, but I decided to think of it as a rest week for my body. I realized that it’s not worth messing up a tattoo that will be on my body forever just to get in some workouts. Hopefully it will be completely healed soon enough and I can get back to running! The foot is kind of a tough place to get a tattoo because my running shoes rub up against it. Oh well!

Update on the tattoo: It started scabbing, and now the scabs are flaking off. I know that this has to happen at some point obviously, but I can’t tell if the scabs are actually ready to come off, or if they’re just coming off because my shoes are rubbing against them (I try to avoid shoes as much as possible, but unfortunately I have to wear running shoes to work). So far it’s still looking okay so I hope that it’s healing up nicely!

Yoga Week 3 Update

Anyways, it’s time for this week’s yoga update!

Wheel:

yoga1(2) 002(2)

I think it’s looking a lot better! I’m working on getting my arms straight, and I was able to go up onto my toes this time around. Once I can get my form down I’m going to work on lifting a foot off the ground.

Crow:

yoga2(2) 001(1)

This one’s a lot better than week one obviously, but not a lot of improvement from last week. The problem is that I can’t hold it for very long, and I was practicing before I had my mom take the picture. My arms and legs were pretty much done by the time I was ready for the picture! I was actually able to get my head lower and touch my heels to my butt. Note to self: don’t practice next time!

Lizard:

lizard 003(1)

I hadn’t been documenting lizard, but I figured I might as well start. Better late than never, right? The first one is from week two, and the second is from last week. There’s not really any improvement yet, but I think this will be a fun one to record to see how much I improve!

Have a great Monday! I hope your ease back into the week goes smoothly 🙂 What was your favorite workout of last week?  What did you do for the fourth of July?

2 thoughts on “Yoga Week 3 + Workout Recap

  1. Pingback: Yoga Week 4 + Workout Recap | More Than the Miles

  2. Pingback: Yoga Week 8 + Workout Recap | More Than the Miles

Leave a Reply

