“I’m thankful, but…”

All too often, I’ve been finding myself saying, “I’m thankful, but…”

“I’m thankful that I get to go to a school like ASU, but I really don’t like school. I wish I didn’t have to go through it.”

“I’m thankful that I have a job, but I really wish that I didn’t have to go to work.”

“I’m thankful that I have a healthy body, but I wish I didn’t have as much fat.”

“I’m thankful that I can run, but I wish that I was faster.”

And on, and on, and on…

It’s simply not okay.

I am blessed. I am blessed beyond belief. I received a great scholarship to ASU, and my parents are generous enough to pay the rest for me. I don’t pay rent. I don’t pay for gas. I don’t pay for insurance. I only pay for personal items. That’s where the job comes in. I work so that I have money for my personal items, things that I want but don’t “need.” I am blessed to have a job, as there are so many out there who can’t find work- people who need work.

funny-thing-granted-city-praying

I need to remember that although I don’t particularly enjoy school, I am blessed to be able to go to college. It’s preparing me for the life that is in front of me. Although it’s a bummer to get up and go to work in the afternoon, I am blessed to have a job. I am lucky that I found a job and am able to make money for things that I want to buy. I am blessed that I have parents who support me financially. In fact, I’m totally dependent on them. Sure, my body may have a little more fat than I would like, but I am blessed to have a healthy body. I am free of chronic illness, and I’m at a fairly healthy weight. Yes, I wish I could naturally run faster, but I am blessed to be able to run at all. I can work on getting faster and leaner. I can work on getting good grades and working hard at my job.

bdc11803224c141089c6cb44bfd390d5

I am blessed. There are people in other countries who don’t even have fresh and safe water. There are people in our country who don’t have an education, a job, or a home. I’ve decided to challenge myself to remember what I am grateful for (which is a lot). I have so many blessings in my life.

ec34e5eca45291a743653f68aa45a160

It’s time for me to make some changes.

“I’m thankful, but...”

“I’m thankful.”

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

