Washington State/Canada Trip- Day 3 (Into Canada)

Hey guys! Today is my recap of Day 3 of our vacation! Check here for travel day, day 1 and day 2!

On Sunday, we were finally able to venture into Canada! Kirsten and I awoke to complete another 2 mile run/walk. We cleaned up, had breakfast, and headed for the border. Crossing actually didn’t take long at all, and we were in Canada in about 40 minutes! Once we arrived, we headed to a little shopping center to walk around a bit.

061

While we were there, we got to go into a bookstore! A REAL BOOKSTORE! I’m definitely one of those people who has NOT jumped on the e-book train. I love to hold a real book in my hand. I love to see the progress I’m making, the smell, the pages..everything about real books!

063

062

I got a Mocha Cookie Crumble from Starbucks (sorry about the blurry picture), and I forgot just how much it tastes like COFFEE. Bleh. I’ve never been a coffee person, but I think IΒ wantedΒ to like this because of the oreo cookie crumbles. Oh well, I’ll just stick to my tea next time! Anyways, I had a nice time looking at all the books while sipping on my drink.

After we left the shopping center, we headed off to the beach! I took TONS of pictures, so I’m going to pick my favorites to show you guys. We went to Crescent Beach around 10 or 11 in the morning while the tide was out. We probably walked a good mile out and mile back.

064 065 068 069 070 075 077 080 081 083 086 088 090 094 09510590469_10204195327541284_8892606327703928938_n

Sorry that there’s like 1.5 billion pictures, but I really wanted to show you guys as much as I can! I had such a good time looking at crabs, clams, seagulls, jellies, herons, and more! It was fun to see all the different types of sand as well. It really was a neat time! It was definitely the highlights of the trip (although I did get superrrr sunburnt!).

We finished at the beach around 1 PM and headed to Ben’s grandmother’s condo. She treated us to Borscht (Ukrainian soup) as well as some other snacky foods and desserts. Once we were all stuffed and had relaxed for a while, a few of us headed to Purdy’s! Over the past few years, Ben’s family would home Purdy’s chocolate for me whenever they went to Canada. I was so happy to finally be able to go see all the choices they have for myself!

096

I ended up selecting a Peanut Butter Finger, a Mint Meltie, and a Marshmallow bar. I have to admit, they were all great, but the Marshmallow stole the show!

134

After we got our chocolate, we headed out to shop for a while before heading back to the states. I’m not sure what time we made it back to the condo, but once we did, we had sandwiches before relaxing and heading to bed. This day was probably my favorite day of the trip, although Monday super fun too! Check back tomorrow for my Day 4 update- Birch Bay State Park!

Leave a Reply

