What Happened to Running?

Hey there! Happy Monday! I don’t have a yoga/workout recap for you today…but I will have it TOMORROW! πŸ™‚

If you’ve been reading my blog for any amount of time, you’ll remember that I used to talk quite a bit about running. After all, the name of my blog is “More than the Miles.” You might be wondering, “hey, isn’t this supposed to be a running blog?” The answer is actually no. Hence the “More” in the title πŸ™‚

securedownload (6)

I never intended for this to be a running blog, because to be honest- talking about running all the time is really boring. I used to be obsessed with how many miles I ran, hoping I’d be able to burn enough calories. Somewhere along the way I realized that there is more to life than just the miles that I run, and there’s more to this blog, too.

So if you’ve been wondering- no, I haven’t given up on running! I’m just not all that crazy about it right now. Our 110 degree+ summers here in AZ don’t exactly make for a great “running season.” Right now I am content to run if and when I feel like it. I’m very interested in yoga, and I’m enjoying working on getting stronger and more flexible. I have also been focusing a little more than usual on strength training.

003 (2)

What I’m saying is, running is NOT out of my life. I’m sure once it starts to cool down here, the urge to run will return to me. No doubt the race bug will hit me again as well! πŸ™‚ I’m learning that life is about balance. I am finally accepting that I don’t have to feel guilty if I don’t run enough miles, lift enough weights, touch my toes, hike crazy mountains, etc. Fitness is about what my body AND my mind feel like doing. I’m not going to force myself to run if my mind isn’t in it.

So for now, I’ll be doing my yoga, going for walks, throwing in random strength circuit routines, and running if and when I feel like it. Running will become a bigger part of my routine at some point- but right now I’m proud of myself for letting go and trying new things.

Do you go in phases with certain types of exercise?

What exercise are you loving lately?

2 thoughts on “What Happened to Running?

  1. I’m definitely a seasonal runner! I just don’t do well in the summer heat and humidity. I find that I really enjoy running more when I take some breaks from it too.

Leave a Reply

