Operation Drink More Water

I used to be great at drinking water. In fact, there were times when I drank a little too much water, far exceeding my daily recommended intake.

According to WebMD, water does the following:

  • Helps maintain body fluid balance
  • Can help control calorie intake (by taking the place of calorie-filled drinks)
  • Keeps skin healthy
  • Energizes muscles
  • Helps your kidneys
  • Maintains normal bowel function

This all makes sense, considering our bodies are made up of about 60% water. I feel my best when I’ve been consuming a lot of water, and while I still probably drink more than some people, I’ve been slacking on my water intake lately. As a result, I’ve been finding myself feeling crappy lately- headaches, fatigue, hunger, etc.

water

I’m now going to make a point to focus on drinking more water everyday. If I can get through 3 whole nalgene bottles each day, that will provide me with a little over 90 ounces of water, which is more than enough for my body size. One of the biggest reasons I want to focus on drinking more water is because I know that it will help me lose a few pounds. Last year, when I was diligent about drinking water, I found that I wasn’t as hungry as I am now. It really is true that water helps to fill you up so that you eat less. These days, when I feel hungry, I automatically go for food, not even stopping to think that I may just need some water instead.

I know that summer is coming to a close (well, everywhere but here in AZ), but I hope you will all still join me in this effort to drink more water!

3 thoughts on “Operation Drink More Water

Leave a Reply

