Yoga Week 10 + Workout Recap (The Struggle)

Hey guys! I have some funny pictures for you today, but first let’s talk about my weekend.

Friday night, Ben and I went out with his family for pizza followed by a game night. Saturday, Ben and I went down to my school, out to Men’s Warehouse (for his groomsman attire), and to Kohl’s to look for more clothes. It was a super busy day and I was wiped by the end! We ended the night watching Disturbia with my parents and going out for a 1.5 mile walk. Sunday morning we went to church, and then my mom and I went to the mall! We found my bridesmaid top and had a fun time shopping around. It was a busy but fun weekend! I have school until close to 3 today, and then I’ll be off to do homework.

Workout Recap

  • Monday- Jillian Michaels’ Extreme Shed and Shred Workout 1 (45 minutes), P90X Ab Ripper X (3,311 steps)
  • Tuesday- 1 mile run (10:35), 1.15 mile walk (18,751 steps)
  • Wednesday- Rest (20,207 steps)
  • Thursday- Jillian Michaels’ Extreme Shed and Shred Workout 1 (45 minutes), P90X Ab Ripper X (21,922 steps)
  • Friday- 1 mile run, 1 mile walk (12,710 steps)
  • Saturday- Jillian Michaels’ Extreme Shed and Shred Workout 1 (45 minutes), P90X Ab Ripper X, 1.5 mile walk (13,000+ steps)
  • Sunday- Rest (6,193 steps)

As you can see, I was pretty dang active last week! Starting school definitely helped me get enough steps in every day (averaging around 13,000 per day), and I made an effort to do strength training three days. It was a little tough to get up early after sleeping in all summer, but I got myself out of bed by 6:30 every day to get my sweat on.

Let’s take a look at yoga. P.S.- Sorry the lighting in the pictures is bad- we had to take them at night!

Wheel:

yoga1(2)

006 (3)1

006 (4)1

This one’s pretty much the same as the previous week. I was feeling a little less bendy this time around! Still trying to lift that foot, but this time it was a struggle to even stay in the pose for the picture!

Crow:

yoga2(2)

003 (4)1

005 (5)1

I like to think that my arms got a little straighter this time around! It may be difficult to see progress in the photos, but I can hold this pose A LOT longer than I used to be able to. It’s not longer a struggle to take the photos, so I’d say that’s a plus!

The New

As you can see, I’ve decided to dump lizard pose. I will still obviously do it when it comes up in a routine, but I don’t feel the need to post pictures of it week after week when it looks the same. If anything magnificent happens, I’ll let ya know 😉 Now, I’ve decided to try for some new poses. BEWARE: They are SUPER rough looking, so bear with me for a few weeks 🙂

Simple Heron:

011 (3)2

Told you it was rough! Just wait…it gets better.

King Pigeon (Full):

0131

I was literally moving so much trying to get into this pose that my mom couldn’t even get a picture! I was having a hard time balancing and ended up just falling all over the place.

King Dancer (Full):

015(1)

I’ll get that foot to my forehead one day!

Full Bow

021 (1)

My mom and I had some good laughs watching me get into this one 🙂 I do not understand how all the crazy-bendy yogis get their feet to their heads! Holy cow!

Plow(ish):

025 (1)

This is really more like supported shoulder stand because I am TERRIFIED of plow pose! I’m seriously afraid that I am going to break or strain my neck (ridiculous, I know). I just have to work little by little to get my feet down. This one is almost completely mental.

The Struggle

This pictures are here to give you a little glimpse behind the scenes, and also just to give you a good laugh!

007 (4) 008 (4) 009 (4) 010 (3) 012 (3) 016 017 022

My mom and I had a great time taking these pictures, and I have a feeling we’ll be having lots of laughs now that I’m working on some more difficult poses! I hope you all have a great Monday! Catch ya tomorrow!

5 thoughts on “Yoga Week 10 + Workout Recap (The Struggle)

Leave a Reply

