Yoga Week 12 + Workout Recap

HEY GUYS! Sorry I was MIA Friday- Thursday and Friday were both super busy days for me and I just wasn’t able to find the time for a post. THURSDAY I had class from 10:30 to 1:15. I came home, finished up some homework, and headed to work. I worked from 4-10:45 that night (we’ve been staying later and later these days). FRIDAY I only had one class from 10:30 to 11:20. After school, I headed to Ben’s house to hang out for a few hours before heading home to get ready for work. I worked at 4 again, and we ended up staying until a little after 11 PM (#retaillife). After sleeping horribly Friday night (mega bummer), I woke up to do homework. After working on it for quite a while, Ben took me out to the Cheesecake Factory for dinner! I didn’t take any pictures, but we got dressed up all fancy and it was a great time 🙂

Sunday was the usual- church, homework, and family time. Today I have school until three and then I’m off for the day. Also, it is POURING here! I love the rain, but we’ll see how much I love having to walk a mile in it to school. Wish me luck!

  • Monday- Jillian Michaels Hard Body Level 1 (45 minutes) (1,952 steps)
  • Tuesday- 30 minutes of advanced combination yoga (7,836 steps)
  • Wednesday- 1.40 mile walk, 1.2 mile walk (12,133 steps)
  • Thursday- Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred Level 1 (30 minutes), P90X Ab Ripper X (14,530 steps)
  • Friday- 1.35 mile walk, P90X Ab Ripper X (23,476 steps)
  • Saturday- 30 minutes of advanced balance yoga (steps unknown)
  • Sunday- Rest (around 3,000 steps)

Yoga Update

If you think you notice something different in the below photos, it’s because of my crazy new pants! Check back TOMORROW for details and a review!

Wheel:

yoga1(2)

0041

012 (2)1

When I was in this pose taking the picture, I thought that it felt like I had done a lot better! After looking at the picture, however, I realized that I’m pretty much in the same spot as last week.

Crow:

yoga2(2)

0012

006 (2)1

I’m still at a stand-still with crow, but at least I’m able to consistently keep my knees above my elbows. I’m still trying to work on getting my knees into my armpits, but right now it’s just not happening.

Simple Heron:

011 (3)2

006(1)

014 (2)1

Sorry for the blurry picture, but I got my leg higher up this time around! I’m still working on keeping my back straight rather than rounding it. It’s a lot tougher than it looks!

King Pigeon (Full)

0131

007(1)

016 (2)1

Yay for progress! I’m finding that the key to this one (for now) is improving my balance. I can’t work on my flexibility if I’m putting all of my effort into trying not to face plant! Speaking of which…

017 (2)

Oops.

King Dancer (Full)

015(1)

017(1)

 

019 (2)1

No progress with the leg, but I got my hands a little further back this week.

Full Bow:

021 (1)

018(1)

 

0231

I think that bow looks aboutttt the same, but my feet might be a little higher up! I’m quickly learning that the problem is mostly in my shoulders, not in my legs like I originally thought. Once I break through and get my shoulders to open up, I think these poses will begin to come a lot easier.

Plow:

025 (1)

021(1)

 

0251

I let myself go way farther back this time! It still terrifies me, but I’ll get there- slowly but surely.

Here’s a pose I wanted to throw in today just for fun…I learned how to do Toe Stand! It appeared in my yoga routine and I had never heard of it before. I thought that it would be a piece of cake, but trust me, it’s a lot harder than it looks to hold! I know that it’s hard to tell in the photo, but my heel is actually of the ground and I’m balancing on just my toes.

028

Overall it was a good week. Not a ton of improvement, but some is always better than none! Have a great day today!

P.S.- Remember to check back TOMORROW for a review of my workout pants!

Leave a Reply

