Let’s Talk Steps

Hey guys! Happy Wednesday! This week has already been flying by for me- I can’t believe it’s halfway over! It’s actually moving a little toooooo fast, considering I have two exams at the end of this week 😉

I wanted to talk to you today about steps. When I began this semester a little under a month ago, I thought that I would have absolutely no problem getting 10,000 steps in every day that I went to school. I could not have been more wrong. It turns out, walking to and from (and around) school only gets me around 5,000 steps, leaving me only halfway to my goal of 10,000 steps per day. This has been quite the bummer for me, because getting another 5,000 steps in after a tiring day at work isn’t exactly appealing.

20140207-122239.jpg

The only days that I end up getting enough steps in are days when A) I’m working or B) Ben and I go for a walk at night. I’m learning that I need to be more intentional about getting my steps in each and every day. Getting 10,000 steps in is important to me because it ensures that I get up and move around throughout the day, rather than just sitting around when I get home from school.

I know that once I begin half marathon training, I will (hopefully) have no problem getting in 10,000 steps every day, Monday through Saturday. However, until then, I need to do something to get more steps in. This may mean going on 1-mile walks by myself on the evenings that I don’t work or walk with Ben. It may mean getting on the stationary bike for 15 or 20 minutes at night. Whatever it is, it’s time for me to “step it up” and get more activity throughout the day!

Do you track your steps? Why or why not?

What do you do to get more activity throughout the day?

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Steps

  1. I use a FitBit and I was also surprised at how hard it was to get to 10,000 steps even with an exercise class. Such a good idea to track it every day – I definitely find I make an effort to go out for a walk if I’m behind.

    • Exactly! I can even do a P90X workout and not end up with 10,000 steps at the end of the day. I started wearing mine every day once I realized just how “off” I was in terms of steps!

Leave a Reply

