“Just One Mile”

Yesterday, I headed out for a run – the first run I’ve been on in a very long time. The weather was overcast, so I was more than ready to head out since I knew the 100+ degree heat wouldn’t be beating down on me. It was extremely humid- but still perfect for running. I figured that it was time for me to start hitting the pavement since I start training for my half marathon Monday (eek!).

I started out feeling strong, telling myself that I knew I could make it through just one mile. Just one mile- that’s all I had to do. I’ve always been a pretty slow runner, so I expected to finish in around 11 minutes. Well, I surprised myself and finished in 9:31!

photo (1)

I know that I wouldn’t have been able to maintain this pace for much longer (I was dying!), but it felt great to be able to run a mile in under 10 minutes after not consistently running (or running at all) for a few months. It made me realize that if I can get through one mile quickly, I’ll have no problem getting through 3 slow miles (the starting distance for my training). Just one mile was all it took to boost my confidence. Just one mile made me feel about 100 times healthier. Just one mile made me realize that I will get through my training, and I will run and finish my half marathon. Just one mile was all it took to re-motivate me to workout and eat healthier to give myself a healthier life.

I encourage you to get out and run today,

…even if it’s “just one mile.”

2 thoughts on ““Just One Mile”

Leave a Reply

