My Half Marathon Training Plan

Hey guys! As some of you may know, I started my half marathon training Monday! To be honest, I was a little nervous heading into it. I haven’t done much running at all this summer, and I wasn’t sure if I would be able to complete the 3 miles to kick off day one. Well, I did it! It was absolutely the perfect morning for a run- the sky was cloudy, the air was cool, and the neighborhood was quiet. I ended up completing 3 miles in 32:11.

 photo (1) - Copy

via Instagram!

I was pretty pleased with my pace! I was able to stay under 11-minute miles for the whole run. As I’ve mentioned, I’m not concerned with time at all for this race. My friend and I are running it together and we’re just planning on taking it one step at a time and having fun!

I’ve been working on my training plan for a few weeks now, tweaking it and trying to make it fit my schedule. I ended up going with a mix between Hal Higdon’s Novice 1 and Novice 2 plans, adjusting days as needed. I finally came up with one that will hopefully work for me! Here it is:

TrainingPlanI realize it’s kind of hard to see, but unfortunately this is as large as I could make it. If you click on it, it opens in a new window and it’s much easier to see! As you can see, I have 4 days of running per week, 1 day of strength or cross training (depending on how I’m feeling), 1 day of yoga or a walk (likely both), and 1 day of rest. I’m also planning on continuing to do Ab Ripper 3 days a week. I’m hoping that throwing in all this running will work wonders on my abs! 🙂

I’m still debating how far I want to go with my long runs. For my first half marathon, I only went up to 10 miles before the race. For my second, I got up to 12. Right now, I’m planning on going to 11 miles. This may change depending on how my training goes. I’m just going to see how it goes and adjust as necessary.

I hope this helps any of you who may be working on your own half marathon training plan! Have a great Wednesday, I’ll catch ya tomorrow!

What training plan do you use?

*Disclaimer* Just because this plan works for ME doesn’t mean that it’s the right plan for YOU! Please remember that all individuals are different, and please consult a physician or professional if you feel the need for further advice.

How far do you run before your half marathons?

 

8 thoughts on “My Half Marathon Training Plan

  1. That’s a great plan! I’m a big fan of Half Higdon plans, but after doing several I typically just schedule out my long runs on the weekends, then wing my short runs during the week! Whatever works for YOU! I usually only do two 9 milers, and one 10 miler, before the big day! But that’s just me! It’s probably more preferred to do what you’re doing and get to 11, but I’ve always had good luck just getting up to 10!

    • I agree that everyone is different! I like your idea of winging the short runs. I personally don’t like doing three short runs during the week; it feels like a lot to me. But, I figure it must be like that for a reason, so I’ll tough it out for now 😉

  2. Pingback: Weather Makes All the Difference | More Than the Miles

  3. Pingback: Half Marathon Training Week 3 + Workout Recap | More Than the Miles

  4. Pingback: Where Have I Been?! | More Than the Miles

  5. Pingback: What’s Been Up | More Than the Miles

Leave a Reply

