Half Marathon Training Week 1 + Workout Recap

Hey guys! Happy Monday! How was your weekend?!

I’m actually feeling quite rejuvenated right now! After working Thursday night, Friday night, and Saturday night- I got Sunday off to just chill and relax. Over this weekend I got 4 loads of laundry done, some cleaning, and tons of homework. I’m feeling productive and ready for the new week!

As you can see, I’ve decided to put the yoga updates on hold (for now) and focus on recapping my half marathon training for you guys. I just figured this makes more sense since running is my main form of exercise from now until December. Unfortunately my Fitbit battery died, so no step counts this week!

  • Monday- 3 mile run (32:11)
  • Tuesday- 30 Day Shred Level 2 (20 minutes), P90X Ab Ripper X
  • Wednesday- 3 mile run (32:55)
  • Thursday- 3 mile run (32:33), P90X Ab Ripper X
  • Friday- 1.2 mile walk
  • Saturday- 4 mile run (44:39), 1 mile walk, P90X Ab Ripper X
  • Sunday- 

Monday’s Run

photo (1) - Copy

I was a little nervous going into Monday’s run, mostly just because I wasn’t even sure if I’d be able to do the full 3 miles. I surprised myself by running the whole 3 miles and keeping my pace under an 11-minute mile! It took a lot out of me, but I was definitely feeling pretty motivated after Monday’s run.

Wednesday’s Run 

photo 4

via Instagram

Wednesday’s run was ehhhhh. My legs were tired from strength the previous day, I had only gotten about 5 hours of sleep the night before, and I was still getting over my cold! I took a few more walking breaks than I would have liked, BUT I still got it done under an 11-minute pace, even if it was under by just one second! I’ll take it! This run was definitely a tough one.

Thursday’s Run

photo

Thursday’s 3 miles were definitely better than Wednesday’s! I still took some walking breaks, but managed to finish in 32:33! At this point I was pretty proud of myself for staying under the 11-minute mile pace on all of my runs. Which brings us to….

Saturday’s (long) Run: 

photo 2

Four miles were completed Saturday! I made the mistake of waking up a little late, meaning that I had to run in the sun and the heat (almost 100 degrees). I think that definitely affected my pace. I also believe that improper fueling may have had something to do with it (I worked the previous night, so I didn’t eat dinner). I’m going to have to figure out a way to eat a little something healthy when I get home from work the nights before my long runs. Anyways, I took lots of walking breaks on this one. Like lots. I made sure that I kept them super short, but I still took more than I would have liked to. If I’m being honest, it’s making me a little anxious about the weeks to come. My long run this week is another 4-miler, so hopefully that will help me ease into it!

Overall, I’d say it was a good training week! I feel awesome now that I’ve gotten back into running, hard as it may be. I can’t wait to see how the upcoming weeks shape themselves, and of course I’ll be sure to share it with you guys!

And just to sneak in a little yoga, here’s my attempt at the splits 🙂

photo (2)

Have a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

