Half Marathon Training Week 2 + Workout Recap {Lesson’s Learned}

Gooooood morning to ya! How was your weekend? Mine was filled with lots of studying (boo). My Anatomy & Physiology practical exam was today, so I have been attempting to fully immerse myself in the material all weekend. I have anatomical terms running through my head at all times now- epicondyles, foramina, sutures, ligaments, patella, femur, humerus, tibial tuberosity, sinuses, AHHH!

Here’s a look at last week’s workouts:

  • Monday- 3 mile run (30:52), 0.50 mile walk
  • Tuesday- 3 mile run (31:39)
  • Wednesday- 1.6 mile walk
  • Thursday- 3 mile run (30:51), P90X Ab Ripper X
  • Friday- 2 mile walk
  • Saturday- 4 mile run (50:37), P90X Ab Ripper X
  • Sunday- Rest

Monday’s Run

photo (3)

 

This run was a great way to start my week! The weather was awesome, making it a lot easier for me to keep a faster pace than usual for me.

Thursday’s Run

photo 1

This run was AWESOME! The weather was cool, and I had some crazy negative splits. I even finished my last mile in under 10 minutes! It was a great way to start the day 🙂

Saturday’s (long) Run: 

Okay, this run was straight up awful. Just awful. It was hot. I was tired and hungry and had very little energy. I took a ton of walking breaks.

photo 2

I suppose the problem started Friday night at work. I usually bring some sort of snack (although I don’t always eat it), and that night it was Veggie Straws. I ate my Veggie Straws but kept craving peanut butter M&M’s! At about 8 PM I finally caved and bought some. I wasn’t planning on eating the entire bag, butttt of course I did #noshame. Anyways, Lesson 1: Eating peanut butter M&M’s (and nothing else) for dinner the night before a run is not wise, tasty as they may be. Lesson 2: DO NOT sleep through your alarm and get out to run at 10:30. It will be hot, there will be no shade, and you will be miserable. While the weather is finally starting to cool off here, the high’s are still in the upper 90’s. Starting my run at 10:30 meant I was running in the mid to upper 80’s (not fun). Lesson 3: If you go into a run thinking it’s going to be terrible, it probably will be. I knew that this run was going to be a struggle for me (based on all the things listed above), and I feel like my attitude really had a negative effect. Mindset is everything! Despite all the physical struggles, my run probably would have been a little better had I been a little more positive about it.

I hope you can take something away from these lessons that I’ve learned! 🙂 Catch ya tomorrow!

Have any of you made any silly mistakes before or during a run?

Please tell me I’m not the only one!

2 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training Week 2 + Workout Recap {Lesson’s Learned}

  1. Pingback: Half Marathon Training Week 3 + Workout Recap | More Than the Miles

Leave a Reply

