Half Marathon Training Week 3 + Workout Recap

Happy Monday!! I hope you all had a fantastic weekend. Mine was great, but super duper tiring!! Friday night was Kirsten’s (Ben’s sister) bachelorette party. We hung out at her maid of honor’s house, ate lots of food, played some games, watched a movie, and stayed up wayyyy too late! It was a fun and relaxing night. After getting about 4 hours of sleep on a couch Friday night, I was pretty wiped Saturday and knew that there was NO way I was getting my 5 mile run in that day. Instead, I headed to the mall to shop a bit and get my eyebrows done.

Saturday night I closed at work, which I must admit was quite the struggle for me. I am a terrible tired person. I’m a crier. Yep, I have breakdowns at the drop of a hat when I’m exhausted. Needless to say, by the end of the night I was quite grumpy and was having a good deal of trouble functioning properly. Sunday morning I headed out to complete my 5 miler. Then, Ben and I just hung out and relaxed the whole day!

Workout Recap

  • Monday- 3 mile run (30:05), 2.75 mile walk
  • Tuesday- 3 mile run
  • Wednesday- 1 mile walk? (I honestly can’t remember!)
  • Thursday- 3 mile run (31:15)
  • Friday- 2.8 mile walk
  • Saturday- 0.90 mile walk
  • Sunday-  5 mile run (53:47), 1 mile walk

Monday’s Run (10:02 pace)

photo 1 (3)

This was my fastest run of the training season so far! It’s definitely rewarding to see yourself getting stronger and faster. It was a great way to start my week!

Tuesday’s Run 

Soooooo I slipped up on Tuesday. I totally didn’t check my training schedule and thought that I was supposed to run 3 miles, but it turns out I was supposed to move up to 4 last week. Oh well! I’m honestly not too bummed because I don’t care all that much about the midweek runs. As long as I get my long runs in on the weekends, I’m okay with some other minor slip-ups here and there.

Thursday’s Run (10:26 pace)

photo 2 (3)

Thursday’s run was a sweaty one, as you can see from the picture!

Sunday’s Run (10:46 pace)

photo 3 (2)

I have to admit, I was SUPER pleased with how this run went. It was so much better than my 4 mile run last week! The first 3 miles went pretty well. I felt energized and was able to just go slow and take my time. I started taking some walking breaks after the third mile, but I’m okay with it because I still kept my pace under 11 minutes! Whoot whoot!

I still don’t care much about pace at all, but I really do want to try to keep my pace under 11 minutes. I just think it would be so cool to be able to run the half marathon and see that my pace was in the 10’s!

P.S.- I NEED YOUR HELP! My Garmin is freaking out 😦 It tracks my runs fine, but when I go back to look at the history (like when I’m typing up these posts and need to see my pace, for example), the screen goes completely blank. This happened last week, and after the screen went blank it began to flash all sorts of patterns and things. It was so weird! After resetting it, it went back to normal. I know it isn’t a big deal right now, but I’m afraid it’s foreshadowing that it’s going to crap out all together! This isn’t the first problem that I’ve had with my Garmin Forerunner 210. While I am pleased with it for the most part, it has had a few glitches. I was wondering:

  • Has anyone else had this problem with their Garmin?
  • Do you have the 220, and do you like it?

I spent a lot of money on mine, so I’m not sure if I’m ready to get a new one just yet. Any input would be appreciated!

Have a great day!

One thought on “Half Marathon Training Week 3 + Workout Recap

  1. Pingback: Fall Break(ish?) | More Than the Miles

Leave a Reply

