Southern Rail

I realized that I was supposed to get this post to you last Friday, but I totally forgot about it! So here it is!

Last Wednesday, my mom, my friend, and I went out to lunch at Southern Rail. I loved the look and feel of the restaurant as soon as we walked in. As we began to browse the menu, I immediately realized that this was not a typical restaurant! The menu was quite small, and the dishes had some odd combinations in them! Being the picky eater that I am, I found it a little difficult to find something to order. However, if you love trying new things (or just like fancier food than I do), I’m sure you would love this place!

We decided to get cornbread as an appetizer. It wasn’t typical cornbread! It had corn baked into it (which I know is very common, it’s just not for me), as well as some very small slithers of bell peppers. The butter it was served with was some sort of pepper honey butter I believe. It definitely wasn’t for me, but my mom and friend seemed to love it!

photo 1 (6)

For my entree, I ended up going with the “Simple Salad.” It’s basically just a plain garden salad with a honey vinaigrette. Sad, I know, but it’s the only thing that appealed to me on the menu! The salad was actually delicious- it was fresh and the dressing wasn’t too heavy! Thumbs up!

photo 2 (6)

With my salad, I ordered a side of french fries. They were by far the highlight of my meal. They were thin, crisp, and salty! Yum yum.

photo 3 (3)

Annndddd finally, to top it all off, we split two beignets for dessert. A beignet is a deep-fried, French pastry that is coated in powder sugar! I first had one when my parents and I went to Savannah, GA and fell in love with them. While these weren’t as good as the ones we got in the South, they were still pretty tasty!

photo 4 (2)

Overall, it was a fun time! I loved getting to just spend time with my mom and my friend, and the food was pretty good for the most part. It definitely wasn’t my style, but if you’re a little more adventurous I think you would enjoy it! My mom got a BLT salad and my friend got a grilled watermelon salad. I recommend giving Southern Rail a try!

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

