Mental vs. Physical Strength

Happy Friday! Sorry I didn’t post yesterday, the day just got away from me. I have a busy weekend ahead of me! Tomorrow is Ben’s sister’s wedding, so we’re in full preparation mode!

Last week, I briefly mentioned that I’ve been struggling with mental strength this training season. I physically must be stronger, because I’ve been able to keep a fairly consistent pace around a 10:30 mile. Last year, my half marathon PR pace was 11:24. As you can see, if I can keep this up, it will be big progress.

photo (2)

That being said, my mind seems to give up a lot earlier these days. After just one mile I will find myself wanting to walk- badly. I find myself making excuses; telling myself that I’m sore or tired or not feeling well- all of which are true at the time, but are also obstacles that can be overcome. I’m struggling to keep my head in the game these days.

mentalstrength

I find myself cutting my weekly 3 mile runs short in the name of “rest,” telling myself that it will help better prepare my body for my long weekend run. While I believe that some days this is true (mostly around the end of the week), other days it is just me making excuses. I never make excuses for the long runs. I know that they have to be done, and I actually find myself looking forward to them. It’s the short runs that I have a hard time getting through!

So that’s where I’m at with training right now. My long runs have been going well, and for the most part, I’ve been sticking to my weekly runs…I just tweak them a little bit here and there. I want to be at a healthy point where I am able to be honest with myself and say either “Hey, you’re body really does need rest- take a walk today” OR “You’re fine Madison, suck it up and run!”

Mentality is always a huge struggle for me when it comes to running, and I suppose it always will be! I’ve come to realize that that’s one of the reasons I fall in love with it every year 🙂

Do you struggle with mental strength during your workouts?

What are your plans for the weekend?

4 thoughts on “Mental vs. Physical Strength

    • I agree, something is ALWAYS better than nothing! A lot of times, when it comes to my health, one good (or bad) decision causes a snowball effect. If I can start my day off on a healthy note, I typically try to keep it up the rest of the day!

  1. Yes, I struggle as well! I find having a workout bud really helps. You can motivate each other. That being said, I don’t do any long distance runs. I like ColorMyFootsteps suggestion of telling yourself to ‘just try.’ Takes the pressure off!

    • Workout buddies definitely do help. When I work out with my boyfriend I always find myself putting in a little more effort than I put in by myself. It helps to have someone there to motivate you!

Leave a Reply

