Half Marathon Training Week 5 + Workout Recap {Wedding Weekend}

Hey guys! I hope you all had a great weekend! Mine was filled with wedding festivities! Ben’s sister got married Saturday night, and the whole day was just awesome. I loved getting to stand by her as she married her now-husband!

Here’s a picture of me and Ben (he was the best man!):

photo (1)

Onto last week’s runs!

  • Monday- 3 miles (31:13), 1.25 mile walk
  • Tuesday- 3 miles (31:47)
  • Wednesday- 2 mile walk
  • Thursday- 1 mile (10:14), 1.15 mile walk
  • Friday- Rest
  • Saturday- Rest
  • Sunday- 7 miles (1:24:33)

Monday’s Run (10:25 pace)

photo 1

This run was very typical for a Monday. A nice and easy pace on a cool morning!

Tuesday’s Run (10:36 pace)

photo 2

Tuesday, I was supposed to run 4 miles. I can’t remember exactly what happened, but I remember my legs and body not feeling very good and also not having a huge amount of time (I was running late for school as usual). For those reasons, I cut it short and went ahead and did 3 miles rather than 4.

Thursday’s Run (10:14 pace)

photo 3

Anddddd another fail. This was supposed to be 3 miles, and I was pretty wiped. I went out and decided I’d just see how I felt when I got out there. I stopped at one mile, promising that I would do at least 2 on Friday. WELL, Friday came and I slept RIGHT through my alarm. Mega fail 😦 So there’s that.

Saturday’s Run (12:05 pace)

photo 5

This run was truly horrible. It was so tough! We got home from the wedding around 11 Saturday night, so I ended up getting in bed around midnight. I woke up at 7 AM to run. I was exhausted, my legs were tired, and I was still sluggish from all the yummy food for the wedding! I went into the run planning on running 0.90 miles and walking .10. I figured that would be a great way to give my body and mind a little break but keep myself going. That plan worked up until mile 3 or 4. Somewhere in there I started to crumble. My stomach was hurting quite a bit, and my feet are NOT liking my shoes! That being said, I FINISHED. I told myself that no matter how long it took, I was going to make my watch say 7.00 miles. I seriously considered walking the last 2 miles, but I knew it would take too long and I wanted to go home. I ended up running .15 and walking .05 for the last 2 miles. It isn’t the fastest method, but it helped keep me going.

The splits:

  • Mile 1- 11:48
  • Mile 2- 11:33
  • Mile 3- 11:51
  • Mile 4- 11:35
  • Mile 5- 12:07
  • Mile 6- 13:24
  • Mile 7- 12:15

As you can see, it was a tough run. I came home, drank a bottle of Gatorade, and ate a cinnamon roll (which gave me a headache for the rest of the day- sugary breakfasts after a run seem to be a no-go!).

It was a busy go-go-go weekend, but I loved it. I hope your weekend was full of fun!

Have a great Monday?

What did you do this weekend?

What was your exercise of choice this weekend?

When was the last time you went to a wedding?

2 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training Week 5 + Workout Recap {Wedding Weekend}

  1. I enjoy reading about how training goes for other people – it can be so encouraging and inspiring. Glad you enjoyed the wedding! My husband and I attended a wedding last month 🙂 My weekend was much less exciting – I had to work in Baltimore so I spent a lot of time in the car getting there and back home, no running for me! 😦

    • I love reading about others’ training as well! It can be very motivating as long as you don’t fall into the “comparison trap.” Hey, a weekend off of running can be good for the body and mind every now and then! 🙂

Leave a Reply

